## NINE FABIANS GRADUATE AT SPRING GRADUATION CEREMONY 2015

FABI applauds the nine graduates who made the Institute proud at the Spring Graduation Ceremony of the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences on September 3. We congratulate them all and wish them well in their future endeavours. Listed below are the graduates and their dissertation titles:

## PhD

Dr. Jeanne Korsman – Molecular responses of maize to its foliar pathogen, Cercospora zeina

Supervisor: Prof Dave Berger

Co-supervisor: Dr. Bridget Crampton

**Dr. Stefan van Wyk** – Soybean nodule development and senescence: The role of cysteine proteases and their inhibitors

Supervisor: Dr. Juan Vorster

External co-supervisor: Prof Chris Cullis (Case Western Reserve University, USA)

**Dr. Stephen Taerum** – Origin and diversity of the invasive red turpentine beetle and its fungal symbionts

Supervisor: Prof. Mike Wingfield

Co-advisor: Dr. Wilhelm de Beer

Dr. Tania Weller-Stuart - Genomic and functional characterization in Pantoea ananatis

Supervisor: Prof. Teresa Coutinho

Co-supervisors: Prof. Ian Toth and Dr. P. de Maayer

**Dr. Mingliang Yin** – Taxonomic revision of four major species complexes in the Ophiostomatales (Fungi, Ascomycota), with specific reference to associates of conifer-infesting bark beetles in China

Supervisor: Dr. Wilhelm de Beer

Co-supervisors: Dr. X. D. Zhou and Prof. Mike Wingfield

## MSc

**Francois Boshoff** – Diversity and evolution of rhizobia associated with native and nonnative Acacia species in South Africa

Supervisor: Prof Emma Steenkamp

Co-supervisor: Prof Fanus Venter

**Jackie Lubbe** – Molecular and biological characterization of three *Citrus tristeza virus* candidate cross-protection sources

Supervisor: Prof Gerhard Pietersen

Johan Liversage – Functional characterisation of the *Cercospora zeina* crp1 gene in pathogenesis

Supervisor: Dr. Bridget Crampton

Co-supervisor: Prof Dave Berger

Molly Malefo – Characterisation of selected pathogenicity factors in *Cercospora zeina* 

Supervisor: Dr. Bridget Crampton

Co-supervisor: Prof Dave Berger



 A) Left to right: Mingliang Yin, Wilhelm de Beer and Stephen Taerum; B) Left to right: Paulette Bloomer, Stephen Taerum, Wilhelm de Beer, Mingliang Yin and Fanus Venter; C) Teresa Coutinho and Tania Weller-Stuart; D) Left to right: Fanus Venter, Paulette Bloomer and Wilhelm de Beer