The 31th Annual Meeting of the Tree Protection Co-operative Programme (TPCP) and DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in Tree Health Biotechnology (CTHB)

The annual meeting of the Tree Protection Co-operative Programme (TPCP) and DST/NRF Centre of Excellence in Tree Health Biotechnology (CTHB) has become one of the most important meetings relating to forest tree health in South Africa and globally. The 2020 meetings will take place on 12 and 13 May. Satellite meetings, lab and facility visits and a meeting of the Core Team Members of the CTHB will be held on 11 May. The events are open to staff of member companies of the TPCP and other stakeholders in the TPCP and CTHB.

As has been the case in the past, the 31th annual meeting of the TPCP will focus on key issues relating to forest tree health in South Africa. Importantly, the meeting will again seek to provide feedback to forest industry and other stakeholders on programmes focused on dealing with threatening pest and disease problems following an integrated pest management approach. This year, we will again have the opportunity to learn from colleagues in other parts of the world and to 'benchmark' TPCP research internationally.

Registration information

Registration for the CTHB events on Monday 11 May are being dealt with by email. The online registration facility here is for TPCP related activities on Tuesday 12 and Wednesday 13 May only.

The TPCP related events are only open to staff of member companies of the TPCP and other invited stakeholders in the TPCP and CTHB, and will be free of charge. However, transport and accommodation costs are for your own account. If you are not sure whether you may attend, please contact and cc

Registration closes: 30 April 2020

After online registration you should receive a confirmation email.


Registration Form

Biographical information

Contact information

* *Required as you will receive a text message to show at the University gates to gain access to the campus.

Your attendance


Preliminary programme (will be updated)

Monday 11 May: CTHB symposium, Meeting of Core Team Members and CTHB Dinner
Tuesday 12 May: TPCP symposium and Annual TPCP Dinner
Wednesday 13 May: TPCP symposium, TPCP Board Meeting
Thursday 14 May: Further CTHB and TPCP related meetings and departure of field tour.


Prof. Stephanie Burton (Vice Rector Research: University of Pretoria)
Mr Michael Peter (Forestry South Africa)
Prof. Bernard Slippers (Director of FABI, TPCP)
Prof. Mike Wingfield (Founding Director of FABI and TPCP, IUFRO president)
Dr Osmond Mlonyeni (Manager: Future Africa, University of Pretoria)
Mr John Dedes (Canadian Forest Service, Canada)
Dr Illaria Germishuizen (ICFR)
Dr Rene Heim (University of Florida, USA)
Ms Kayla Noeth (SAPPI)
Dr Simon Lawson (University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia)
Prof. Brett Hurley (FABI, TPCP)
Prof. Emma Steenkamp (FABI, TPCP)
Prof. Brenda Wingfield (FABI, TPCP)
Prof. Wilhelm de Beer (FABI, TPCP)
Prof. Sanushka Naidoo (FABI, FMG)
Prof. Martin Coetzee (FABI, TPCP)
Dr Trudy Paap (FABI, TPCP)
Dr Irene Barnes (FABI, TPCP)
Dr Almuth Hammerbacher (FABI, TPCP)
Dr Mesfin Gossa (FABI, TPCP)
Dr Tuan Duong (FABI, TPCP)
and more

Venue and accommodation

All activities of the 2019 CTHB and TPCP Annual meeting on Monday 11 May, Tuesday 12 May and Wednesday 13 May will take place at the Future Africa Campus (MAP) of the University of Pretoria, in Pretoria, South Africa.

NOTE: Please follow the map as this is on a different campus from where previous meetings took place.

Accommodation that is just a few minutes walk from the meeting venue, can be booked at Future Africa. Accommodation should be booked directly with Future Africa ( ), and is for your own account.