The University of Pretoria Academic Achievers Awards function, held on Tuesday 6 May, is a highlight on the calendar of the University. The function celebrates highlights in research, teaching and innovation at the University, which are the core functions of the University, which contributed most towards its standing amongst national and international Universities. Awards are made for ‘Exceptional Researchers’, ‘Exceptional Young Researchers’ and ‘Teaching Excellence and Innovation’. Researchers who have received ‘ratings’ from the National Research Foundation in the previous year are also recognized at this function. These ratings reflect evaluations of peers around the world of the quality and impact of the research of the candidates. FABI was well represented at the UP achievers function.

Exceptional Academic achievers
Prof Zander Myburg
Prof Jolanda Roux
NRF Rated Researchers
Prof Brenda Wingfield - A
Dr Jeff Garnas - Y
Dr Juan Voster - Y
Dr Lucy Moleleki - Y

The function was attended by most of the administrative and academic leaders of the University, as well as high-level leaders in science from outside the University. Amongst the guests was the Director General of the Department of Science and Technology, Dr Phil Mjwara, and Prof Daya Reddy, President of the Academy of Science of South Africa. Prof Reddy was the keynote speaker of the evening, and reflected on the ‘beautiful minds’ that have defined what true scholarship is over the years. In so many cases, these giants of the academic world have dedicated their lives to making the world a better place to live in, while at the same time striving to advance the boundaries of human knowledge. The last words of his talk, quoting the mathematician David Hilbert, will ring in ours ears for a while: “We must know - we will know”.

Congratulations to all the FABI achievers!

Photo left: Prof Brenda Wingfield receives her NRF A-rating!

Photos attached: From top to bottom, Proff Zander Myburg and Jolanda Roux receive their exceptional academic achievers awards, and Drs Jeff Garnas and Juan Vorster being congratulated with their Y ratings.