Professor Zander Myburg, research leader of the Forest Molecular Genetics (FMG) Research Group in FABI was awarded the prestigious Biotechnologist of the Year Award by the Institute of Forest Biosciences (IFB). The award was handed over to Zander on 27 June at the gala dinner of the International Union of Forest Research Organizations (IUFRO) Tree Biotech meeting held from 23-28 June in Raleigh, North Carolina in the USA.

The award winner is an individual who best exemplifies environmentally and socially responsible forest biotechnology. Candidates should also work diligently to promote science, dialogue, and stewardship in this field.

The IUFRO Tree Biotechnology Meeting is the premier biennial international event focused on molecular biology, genetics, genomics and propagation technologies for forest trees. It is an opportunity for the international community of researchers in forest tree biotechnology to gather to learn of new methods, hear about research advances, and consider the ways in which these tools and discoveries can be used to help forests adjust to the changing world. 

Professor Myburg received the award from Susan McCord from IFS and Prof. Ron Sederoff from NC State University, who is Zander’s former Ph.D. supervisor and a previous winner of the Forest Biotechnologist Award.

Several other members of FMG attended the meeting including Prof. Sanushka Naidoo, Prof. Eshchar Mizrachi, Dr Vicki Maloney, Dr Caren Oates, Marja O’Neill, Luke Kim and Desré Pinard