The 2017 FABI year-end gala dinner and awards ceremony marked 20 years since the founding of the Institute and an historic turning point in its future. FABI staff, students and invited guests swapped their lab coats for evening wear to celebrate another year of research excellnce and accomplishments. The event was attended by Vice-Principal for Research and Postgraduate Education at the University of Pretoria, Professor Stephanie Burton; Dean in the Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, Prof. Jean Lubuma; Director: Facilities Management at UP Prof. Susan Adendorff as well as representatives from the forestry sector, other FABI stakeholders and members of the FABI team and their guests.

Former Vice-Chancellor of the University of the Free State, who had previously served as the Dean of the Faculty of Education at UP, Prof. Jonathan Jansen was guest speaker for the night. He spoke of the responsibility of universities in the current social and political climate, as generators of new knowledge and, importantly, as institutions where openness, freedom of expression and the unflinching search for the truth is  encouraged and practised. He commended FABI for these characteristics, which in its history have set it apart as a centre of excellence in its field.

Prof. Lubuma announced that Prof. Bernard Slippers would assume leadership of FABI from 1 January as founder Director Prof. Mike Wingfield will step down from this position after 20 years at the helm. FABIans recalled their fondest memories of Prof. Wingfield in a video screened on the night. FABIans also bid farewell to Dr Bridget Crampton, who will leave FABI to join the UK Forestry Commission at the end of the year.

Dr. Irene Barnes officiated the awards ceremony and announced awards to the following people for their contributions to FABI in these categories:

Best FABI MSc: Drew Behrens

Best student publication: Valentine Nakato

Best FABI Post-doc publication: Dr Alistair McTaggart

FABI award “Getting the message to the public”: Juanita Avontuur, Arista Fourie, Angel Maduke and Benedicta Swalarsk-Parry who make up the CTHB Outreach Team

FABI award for mentorship: Benedicta Swalarsk-Parry and Jonathan Botha

FABI award recognising contributions by a member of staff at the University of Pretoria: Prof Susan Adendorff

Best student website: Quentin Guignard

FABI award recognising contributions by a person external to FABI: Sally Upfold of the Institute for Commercial Forestry Research

FABI Photographic Awards:

FABIans at work: Prof. Dave Berger

FABI research: Angelique du Preez

FABIan of the Year: Andi Wilson

Honours students with projects at FABI received their special 2017 Honours T-shirt.

New Publications

Export to RIS
Liu FF, Barnes I, Roux J, Wingfield MJ, Chen SF. (2017) Molecular phylogenetics and microsatellite analysis reveal a new pathogenic Ceratocystis species in the Asian-Australian Clade. Plant Pathology 10.1111/ppa.12820
Wingfield BD, Berger DK, Steenkamp ET, Lim H-J, Duong TA, Bluhm BH, De Beer ZW, De Vos L, Fourie G, Naidoo K, Olivier NA, Lin Y, Van der Peer Y, Joubert F, Crampton BG, Swart V, Soal N, Tatham C, Van der Nest MA, Van der Merwe NA, Van Wyk S, Wilken PM, Wingfield MJ. (2017) IMA Genome-F 8 Draft genome of Cercospora zeina, Fusarium pininemorale, Hawksworthiomyces lignivorus, Huntiella decipiens and Ophiostoma ips. IMA Fungus 8 (2):385‑396. 10.5598/imafungus.2017.08.02.10
Meyer J, Berger DK, Christensen SA, Murray SL. (2017) RNA-Seq analysis of resistant and susceptible sub-tropical maize lines reveals a role for kauralexins in resistance to grey leaf spot disease, caused by Cercospora zeina. BMC Plant Biology 17:197. 10.1186/s12870-017-1137-9
Nel WJ, Duong TA, Wingfield BD, Wingfield MJ, De Beer ZW. (2017) A new genus and species for the globally important, multi-host root pathogen Thielaviopsis basicola. Plant Pathology 10.1111/ppa.12803
Aylward J, Wingfield BD, Dreyer LL, Roets F, Wingfield MJ, Steenkamp ET. (2017) Contrasting carbon metabolism in saprotrophic and pathogenic Microascalean fungi from Protea trees. Fungal Ecology 30:88-100. 10.1016/j.funeco.2017.09.002