FABI celebrates with the 68 graduates affiliated with the Institute whose degrees were conferred at the University of Pretoria’s first virtual graduation ceremony on 6 April. UP took the extraordinary decision to conduct a virtual graduation ceremony and award all its degrees for the Autumn graduation ceremonies (due to take place from 7 April to 8 May) in absentia. UP had to postpone its traditional graduation ceremonies in adherence to national lockdown regulations set by the South African Government in response to the Covid-19 outbreak, which prohibit mass gatherings. 

Vice-chancellor and Principal Professor Tawana Kupe conducted the virtual graduation streamed on the video-sharing channel, YouTube. In his address, Prof. Kupe said the virtual graduation was meant for all the graduates – a record-breaking 11,001 – to “formally graduate, get your certificate and to get on with your life.” Prof. Kupe said that “as soon as conditions allow” UP would inform graduates about “ways to access your degree certificates” and hold traditional graduation ceremonies in the future. 

FABI congratulates the following graduates:


Dr Teddy Amuge 

Dr Robert Backer

Dr Katrin Fitza

Dr Joey Hulbert

Dr Miekie Human

Dr Farooq Kyeyune 

Dr Edgar Mangwende

Dr Jan Nagel

Dr David Nsibo

Dr Nicky Olivier

Dr Desre Pinard

Dr Ronel Roberts 

Dr Mohammad Sayari

Dr Gi Yoon Shin

Dr Michel Tchoumi Tchotet 

Dr Andi Wilson



Katrien Brown 

Julia Candotti

Michael du Toit

Shaina Facey 

Caitlin Gevers

Alessandro Gricia 

Sasha-Lee Gush

Rochelle Janse van Rensburg 

Christoff Joubert

Melissa Joubert

Tamanique Kampman

Frances Lane

Lizette Loubser

Lazarus Mavima

Nikki Miguel

Patience Modiba

Gontse Modisane

Seamus Morgan

Sanele Moyana

Khumbudzo Ndhlovu

Kayla Noeth 

Miranda Procter

Carol-Ann Segal

Sydney Sithole

Julanie Stapelberg

Catherine Tatham

Nomakula Zim


BSc (Hons)

Surprise Baloyi

Ruby Ebbeling

Alicia Fick

Eleanor Froneman

Casey Gill

Verushka Ibanez

Daniella Kramer

Kristiann Labuschagne

Christopher Liakos

Trystan Nadasen

Jenna-Lee Price

Boitshoko Rammuki

Claire Randolph

Kevin Scheepers

Cassandra Schoeman

Medha Sood

Shae Swanepoel

Louisa Terblanche

Dee Twiddy

Nicole van Vuuren

Lente van Zyl

Anien Viljoen

Keenan Williams


BSc (Agric)

Erika Botha

Cheyenne Theron


Postgraduate Dipl (Entrepreneurship)

Dr Albe van der Merwe